Gazpacho!

20140729-141952-51592569.jpg

Summer is rollin’ hard in Richmond so what else would I want to eat more on this earth than cold vegetable soup. Thanks to Ellwood Thompson market and Relayfoods.com (not sponsored) I was able to craft a spicy gazpacho that knocked my socks off.  I used about 3 lbs of super ripe slicer tomatoes, 3/4 of a large cucumber, yellow bell pepper, sweet onion, basil (which i will omit next time), and for an interesting twist I peeled and roasted a peach with a halved (not de-seeded, which was also a critical error) jalapeno for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees.  I was really shocked at how much the jalapeno kicked my ass as I am usually a big fan of food that packs a fiery punch. I tossed everything in the food processor until almost completely smooth. To finish, I added salt and red wine vinegar to taste.  most recipes I looked at suggested adding bloody mary mix or tomato juice, but I went without. I garnished with shrimp, basil, and some veggies i didn’t blend.

I also added a whopping dollop of sour cream (not pictured), since I was bold enough to not de-seed my pepper.

Who am I kidding? I just love sour cream…

 

4 thoughts on “Gazpacho!”

Leave a Reply

