Sausage and Hash Brown Pie

Breakfast for dinner is always a great experience for me.  There is nothing like the indulgent ingredients of the morning. Spicy sausage, velvety eggs, silky cheeses, fried potatoes, mmmmmm! When I decided that BFD was the mission I did have to consider the fact that any meal I cook in the evening needs to provide at least one serving the next day; so traditional scrambled or fried eggs were out (re-heating creates a rubber nightmare). Another element is my need to use these flavor burst peppers, I went to the Chesterfield Berry Farm Market and for them for FREE! Then I needed it to be easy to prepare because I am lazy after work. Finally I wanted to try and use as many “healthy” alternatives as I could to kind of cut out some of the guilt factor.
Ingredients.

1 ½ lbs red potatoes

1 lb sausage (I used bratwurst)

1/2 medium vidalia onion, chopped

1 flavor burst pepper (regular bell pepper is fine, red or orange), chopped

3 eggs, beaten

Handful sunburst tomatoes, halved

2 tsp. homemade ranch seasoning

salt

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 cup whipped feta

The first thing you want to do is preheat your oven to 350 degrees, since I am using raw potatoes, I am going to let the pie pan heat up in the oven as well.  This way when you put the potatoes in you can get a nice crust on them.

I thoroughly rinsed my potatoes, but opted not to peel them. If you do not want to use red potatoes/don’t have them handy, regular russets are fine.  I shredded them in my food processor and used tea towels to push out the extra moisture.  You are going to want to squeeze as much water out of the potatoes as you can in order to avoid a soggy pie.

I then mix my ranch seasoning, salt and coconut oil into my shredded potatoes.  I would not use more than a teaspoon of salt since the ranch mix has so much flavor, but it is necessary to help push moisture out of the potatoes. However, if you are on a low sodium diet feel free to omit salting here.

Tip: put the coconut oil in the microwave for about 10 seconds to make it a liquid and easy to mix into the potatoes.

photo 1 20140902_182850 - Copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pack the potatoes into the pie pan and line them nicely over the rim of the dish.  Put it in the oven for about 35-40 minutes or until the edges start to get a little crisp.

Remove your sausage from the casing and add it to a screaming hot cast iron, once some of the liquid cooks out add the onions and peppers.  Cook until the sausage is no longer pink.  It is important not to overcook here as you will be putting this mixture into the oven to cook more and unless you like your meat rubber textured you don’t want it SUPER DONE going in.

Flavor burst peppers!
Flavor burst peppers!
YAS.
YAS.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combine the meat mixture, eggs, and feta. Once well mixed add it to your potato pan.  Top with the cherry tomatoes and slide it into the oven for another 35 minutes or until eggs have set.

20140902_191620

 

 

 

 

Look at that. DAMN. One nice thing about the super sweet tomatoes is they impart a ketchup like quality when you get one in a bite without having to slather your meal with Americas favorite red high fructose corn syrup.

BOOM.
BOOM.
5 thoughts on “Sausage and Hash Brown Pie”

Leave a Reply

